INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT
Second Quarter 2018 IFTA Newsletter

Footnotes
If you use a type of fuel other than what we have listed, need jurisdiction specific information or information on
the U.S. Canadian exchange rate, refer to the IFTA, Inc. website at www.iftach.org and click on Tax Rates in the
left column.

Nebraska Fuel Tax Rate
The second quarter 2018 fuel rate (April 1, 2018 through June 30, 2018) is $0.2840. The rate for the third
quarter 2018 (July 1, 2018 through September 30, 2018) will be $0.28.

ELD - Electronic Logging Devices vs. IFTA and IRP requirements:
Many carriers were required to install ELDs in their vehicles to comply with D.O.T requirements in 2017. Do not
assume the ELD will record all mileage information required by IFTA and IRP. Below are important points to
consider when purchasing an ELD or other GPS systems used for IFTA and IRP reporting:

IFTA & IRP require that the data be collected for individual vehicles (vs. drivers).

The data must be retained and/or accessible for 4 years for IFTA and 5 years for IRP.

IFTA & IRP require that all miles be recorded and logged, even if exempt from ELD.

IFTA & IRP require the miles to be recorded between signals “pings”, and for the reports to list route,
miles per state and total miles.

5. Some ELDs may only signal a “ping” once per hour, which may not be sufficient for IFTA and IRP
reporting (depending on your operations).

N

We recommend you contact our office before purchasing a GPS system used for IFTA and IRP reporting. The
reporting requirements can be found on our website at: https://dmv.nebraska.gov/mc/irp-record-keepingaudit
If you have any questions, contact us by phone (402) 471-4435 or e-mail, mcs.web@nebraska.gov.

If you have questions regarding the ELD Rule or ELD requirements, refer to the following website:
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/hours-service/elds/electronic-logging-devices or email the D.O.T. at an emalil
specifically set up to respond to questions about the new rule: ELD@dot.gov

Accessing the IFTA Online Services — Nebraska miles
To access the IFTA online services you will be required to enter your 4 digit carrier number, the federal
identification number associated with your account and the NEBRASKA miles filed on your last quarter return,
not the TOTAL miles filed. If you have trouble retrieving a copy of your last quarter filed, contact our office at
402-471-4435 or contact us at https://mcsdmv.ne.gov/contact.htm.
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IFTA Fuel Tax Reporting Rates*
Second Quarter 2018

Jurisdiction Diesel Gasoline Gasohol Propane CNG Jurisdiction Diesel Gasoline Gasohol Propane CNG
ALABAMA $0.1900 | $0.1800 | $0.1800 | $0.1900 $ - NEVADA $0.2700 | $0.2300 | $0.2300 | $0.2200 $0.2100
ALBERTA $ 0.6081 $0.5706 $ 0.3760 $ 0.4055 $ 0.1585 NEW BRUNSWICK $0.6217 $0.4482 $ 0.4482 $0.1938 $0.6217
ARIZONA $ 0.2600 $0.1800 $0.1800 $- $- NEWFOUNDLAND $0.6217 $0.5928 $ - $0.2025 $ -
ARKANSAS $0.2250 | $0.2150 | $0.2150 | $0.1650 $ 0.0500 NEW HAMPSHIRE $0.2220 $- $ - $0.2220 $0.2220
BRITISH COLUMBIA $0.6926 | $0.6443 | $0.6443 | $0.2339 $0.1923 NEW JERSEY $0.4420 | $0.3710 | $0.3710 $ 0.3225 $ -
CALIFORNIA $0.5700 $ - $- $ 0.0600 $0.0887 NEW MEXICO $0.2100 $ - $- $- $ -
COLORADO $ 0.2050 $0.2200 | $0.2200 $0.1100 $ 0.1500 NEW YORK $0.3915 $0.3990 | $0.3990 $ 0.2300 $ -
CONNECTICUT $0.4170 $ 0.2500 $ 0.2500 $ 0.2600 $ 0.2600 NORTH CAROLINA $0.3510 $ 0.3510 $0.3510 $ 0.3510 $ 0.3510
DELAWARE $0.2200 | $0.2300 | $0.2300 | $0.2200 $ 0.2200 NORTH DAKOTA $0.2300 | $0.2300 | $0.2300 | $0.2300 $ 0.2300
FLORIDA $0.3437 $ 0.3450 $0.3450 $- $- NOVA SCOTIA $ 0.4453 $0.4482 $0.4482 $ 0.2025 $ 0.4453
GEORGIA $0.3000 [ $0.2680 | $0.2680 | $0.2680 $ 0.2680 OHIO $0.2800 | $0.2800 $0.2800 | $0.2800 $ -
IDAHO $ 0.3200 $- $ - $0.2320 $ 0.3200 OKLAHOMA $0.1300 | $0.1600 $0.1600 | $0.1600 $ 0.0500
ILLINOIS $0.3490 | $0.3240 $0.3240 | $0.3580 $ 0.2940 ONTARIO $0.4136 | $0.4251 $0.4251 | $0.1244 $ -
INDIANA $0.4700 | $0.2600 | $ 0.2600 $ - $0.4700 OREGON $- $- $- $ - $ -
Surcharge $ - $0.2100 | $0.2100 | $0.4700 $- PENNSYLVANIA $0.7410 | $0.5760 | $0.5760 | $0.4250 $ 0.5760
IOWA $0.3250 | $0.3050 $0.2900 | $0.3000 $ 0.3100 PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND $0.5842 | $0.3788 $ - $- $ -
KANSAS $0.2600 | $0.2400 $0.2400 | $0.2300 $ 0.2400 QUEBEC $0.5842 | $0.5552 $ 0.5552 $ - $ -
KENTUCKY $0.2160 | $0.2460 | $0.2460 | $0.2460 $0.2160 RHODE ISLAND $0.3300 | $0.3300 | $0.3300 | $0.3300 $ -
Surcharge $0.1020 | $0.0440 | $0.0440 | $0.0440 $ 0.1020 SASKATCHEWAN $0.4338 | $0.4338 $0.4338 | $0.2603 $ -
LOUISIANA $0.2000 | $0.2000 $0.2000 | $0.1460 $ 0.2000 SOUTH CAROLINA $0.1800 | $0.1800 $0.1800 | $0.1800 $0.1800
MAINE $0.3120 $ - $ - $0.2190 $0.3073 SOUTH DAKOTA $ 0.2800 $- $ - $ - $ -
MANITOBA $0.4048 | $0.4048 $0.4048 | $0.0868 $ 0.2892 TENNESSEE $0.2100 | $0.2400 $0.2400 | $0.1700 $0.1600
MARYLAND $0.3455 | $0.3380 $0.3380 | $0.3380 $ 0.3380 TEXAS $0.2000 | $ 0.2000 $ 0.2000 $ - $ 0.1500
MASSACHUSETTS $0.2400 | $0.2400 | $0.2400 | $0.1860 $ 0.1860 UTAH $0.2940 | $0.2940 | $0.2940 $- $ 0.1450
MICHIGAN $0.4230 | $0.4040 | $0.4040 | $0.4230 $ 0.4040 VERMONT $0.3100 $ - $ - $ - $ -
MINNESOTA $ 0.2850 $ 0.2850 $ 0.2850 $0.2135 $ 0.2850 VIRGINIA $ 0.2020 $0.1620 $0.1620 $0.1620 $0.1620
MISSISSIPPI $0.1800 $0.1800 | $0.1800 $0.1700 $0.2280 Surcharge $0.0350 | $0.0750 | $0.0750 | $0.0750 $ 0.0750
MISSOURI $0.1700 | $0.1700 $0.1700 | $0.1700 $ 0.0500 WASHINGTON $0.4940 | $0.4940 $ 0.4940 $- $ -
MONTANA $ 0.2925 $- $ - $0.0518 $0.0700 WEST VIRGINIA $0.3570 | $0.3570 $0.3570 | $0.2000 $0.2370
NEBRASKA $0.2840 | $0.2840 | $0.2840 | $0.2840 $ 0.2840 WISCONSIN $0.3290 | $0.3290 | $0.3290 | $0.2260 $0.2470
WYOMING $0.2400 | $0.2400 | $0.2400 | $0.2400 $ 0.2400

* All rates are per gallon.

If you did travel in a jurisdiction using a fuel listed as $- above, please include the miles and gallons in the "All Other Non-IFTA Jurisdictions Combined"
section on Nebraska Schedule 1.
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