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Odometer reporting requirements will now apply to vehicles 
where the manufacturer’s model year designation equals 
2011 or newer AND an age of less than 20 years. 

The immediate impact of this change is to 2011 model 
vehicles transferring ownership on or after January 1, 2021.  

The odometer changes are the result of a ruling published by 
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA) and the passage of LB 944 by the Nebraska 
legislature.  Passage of LB 944 ensures Nebraska will stay in 
compliance with the NHTSA requirements. 

Unfortunately, not every jurisdiction has changed its laws, 
documents and procedures to meet the Jan. 1, 2021, 
deadline.  Those states include:  Alaska, Delaware, Missouri, 
Montana, Oregon, Vermont and Washington.  Compliance 
by these states is expected on January 1, 2022. 

If an odometer has been reported as exempt through a 
transaction in one of the non-compliant states, it will remain 
as exempt.  

Example #1:  Used vehicle is 3 years old with actual 
mileage.  No change required. There is no odometer 
exemption to disclose. 

Example #2:  Used 2011 model year vehicle has title issued 
in Missouri (non-compliant state) after January 1, 2021, 
odometer recorded as exempt.  Vehicle transfers to Nebraska 
dealer or consumer, odometer continues as exempt, 
Nebraska title will be issued with odometer recorded as 
exempt. 

Example #3:  Used 2011 model year vehicle transfers 
ownership, seller erroneously writes “exempt” on title.  Title 
is mutilated, seller must obtain a duplicate title and properly 
record odometer reading as part of transfer.    

 

Separate odometer statements will not be accepted in lieu of 
recording mileage on title documents. 

 


